Thursday, October 21, 2010

I Am (NOT) a Runner??!!

I am training for a 10K. Let me repeat that, with emphasis, because I am still trying to believe that I am actually saying that. I… AM TRAINING… FOR A 10K RUN!! If anyone had asked me three years ago if I could imagine myself running about 6.5 miles, I would have sputtered and doubled-over laughing. Once I caught my breath, I would have stated, in no uncertain terms and in a somewhat self deprecating tone, “I… am NOT… a runner.” But here I am, having just finished about a five-mile run, the salty grit still on my unwashed face, and I can state in equally uncertain terms, that I am training for a 10K. I am signed up. I have acquired the access to the gear bag and shoe chip. I am going to run with MARINES!!! I have become a runner.

I am planning to go to a political rally in Washington D.C. My first!! I am making a video blog about that, and if it turns out watchable, I’ll put it on You Tube. But the friend that I will be staying with told me he was signed up for the Marine Corp 10K run during the time I will be there, and I heard myself saying to him, “Oh! Well, I’ll run it too.” And thus it happens that a former one-to-two-miles-three-to-four-times-a-week, pseudo-runner has become a 10K runner. I went out today with a bit of fear; I will be running with Marines in Washington D.C., after all. Plus, since I run in Illinois, I am figuring that the hills are gonna be killers. I hit a head wind on the way back today and I thought, “What if I get a headwind AND a hill??!!” But I am also really looking forward to it. I started this whole thing on a tread mill at our health club two years ago quite by accident. I thought I would start working out with weights, and getting in shape, and I was committed to becoming “cream buff” as my cousin likes to say. But I found that the cardio part of my routine was the part I really liked. I could push a button on the tread mill and zone out. Actually, I did a TON of thinking about my next Avatar and I am getting close to getting it started, I think. So the running helped me meditate, really, and I am a better, stronger, faster person for it. I remember the first time I tried running as a form of exercise. I ran about ½ a mile, pulled a hammie and limped around for about 4 weeks. “See,” I told myself, “you’re not a runner.” That was about three years ago. And here I am today, still shy about saying it, thinking that all runners must run marathons and so I am still a runner-wanna-be, but I am, in fact, a runner. I’m addicted and proud.

I am also looking forward to chasing the cute rear ends of some hunky marines!! Semper Fi!!! Raarr!!

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Nyet, uh uh, nope, no can do... What part of "No" didn't you understand?

I think the key to getting in a workout, massage, getting a moment to yourself or getting more important things done, whether you have toddlers or not, is saying "no." Say "no" to things that will otherwise fill your time with stuff that doesn't serve the goal of your health, your personal growth or your family's/society's well-being. I think many of us still believe in the Super-Mom/Dad concept without realizing what we are sacrificing, which is usually your personal time and a calm mind.

I know that when my kids' school needs something, I am often the first "yes" responder. I have come to control that recently, since I realized that it was taking a toll on me. We cannot be all things to all people and we MUST take care of ourselves first. Our entire selves; mind and body. We have a great tendency to ignore the body part (piece ;-) of that puzzle because the body is seemingly pretty good at taking care of itself. But, I think if we could actually speak to each and every cell in our bodies, they would be yelling at us to exercise and eat right WAY before they turned into cancer. It is unfortunate that most people don't start really thinking about health in a meaningful way until after they have, or someone close to them has, a catastrophic illness.

But not us, I say!!! So from now on, if someone asks you to do something, think before you speak. Then add only those things that promote your own personal growth. The below is part of the paradigm that I am developing that I think will help people to figure out if they SHOULD do anything, even if they can.

1) What will I sacrifice to do this? (time with family, working out, sanity/calm time)
2) Does it satisfy any of my needs? (Mental, Physical, Social)
3) Will it help to OPTIMIZE my life?

In order to take control of your life, you should answer these questions constantly. Whether you are thinking about putting a potato chip in your mouth or deciding whether or not to run for President.

Getting back to parents with toddlers, tell your spouse/significant other/baby-sitter that you'd like to go work-out at least twice a week. Schedule it. Then do it. Make it a part of your PERMANENT lifestyle, not just "until I lose ten pounds" or "until I feel fit".

Also, stop playing around on the internet ;-)